Consequences of a DUI conviction you might not realize

On Behalf of | Mar 15, 2022 | criminal defense

The number of prior DUI offenses you have directly affects the penalties you may face.

In Georgia, the penalties for DUI may seem severe, but an arrest does not equal guilt.

First-time DUI offenders

First-time offenders often face:

  • A $300 fine plus court costs
  • 12 months of probation
  • 40 hours of community services
  • Limited permission to drive
  • Attendance at DUI school

Sometimes the judge will order a sentence of 1-10 days in jail, but that is often waived.

Second-time DUI offenders

Second-time DUI offenders often face:

  • A fine ranging from $600 to $1,000 plus court costs
  • 12-36 months of probation
  • 240 hours of community service
  • License suspension
  • Attendance at DUI school

A second-time offender must serve a minimum of three days in jail, but the jail sentence can range from 90 days to a year.

Habitual violators

Habitual violators have more than four DUIs and reach felony offense status. They often face:

  • A fine ranging between $1,000 to $5,000
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Installation of ignition interlock for at least two years
  • Attendance at DUI Risk Reduction School
  • Surrender of license plate

Since habitual violators face felony charges, they may face up to five years in prison. A judge often requires a clinical evaluation and treatment as well.

Offenders with prior DUI convictions

Georgia follows the concept of a “look back” period. This means that the judge can look back at 10 years of your record when determining punishment enhancements and five years when determining consequences.

Penalties vary even further for CDL drivers and those charged with DUI for drugs. However, every situation has differing circumstances, and authorities usually take that into consideration.