Georgia motorists will receive a license suspension after a conviction for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Law enforcement officers can arrest drivers for DUI if they have a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher at the scene of the arrest or display impairment.
Review the details about DUI license suspension in Georgia if you face a court date for this offense.
DUI suspension periods
Georgia drivers receive a 12-month license suspension after a DUI conviction. You may lose your license for up to 36 months after a second DUI and five years after a third DUI. To regain driving privileges after serving a suspension, you must pay a reinstatement fee of $210. You can request a limited driver’s license for work and school after the first 30 days.
Drivers who receive a DUI prior to age 21 cannot obtain a graduated driver’s license for 12 months. The BAC limit for underage drivers is 0.02%.
Other driving penalties
After a second DUI within five years, Georgia drivers must forfeit their license plates to the department of motor vehicles. To regain driving privileges, they must install an ignition interlock device in the vehicle.
After a third offense, the driver’s name and photo will appear in the local newspaper as habitual DUI offenders at his or her own expense.
For driver’s license reinstatement after a second DUI conviction, Georgia drivers must show proof of a clinical evaluation for substance use disorder from a provider who has approval from the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities.