As more states consider the decriminalization or even legalization of marijuana and THC, it can be easy to get lost in the details. But do not get yourself in unnecessary trouble by making assumptions. Purchasing marijuana legally in another state offers no protection from having it on your person in Georgia. While the legal landscape of drugs shifts, it is vital that you understand current laws and your rights as a defendant.
Findlaw presents us with a clean snippet of Georgia laws surrounding drug possession. It details five separate schedules of controlled substances where possession of any of them is subject to possible jail time ranging from 1 year minimum for possessing any type and all the way up to 15 years on a first offense for Schedule I and Schedule II narcotics.
Even marijuana possession over an ounce carries a mandatory minimum sentence of 1 year. Under an ounce can still get you up to a year’s time in prison or a fine of up to $1,000.
The war on drugs can lead to some false positives, though. There are many cases of people accused of drug crimes without being found guilty or sentenced. From unwarranted searches and seizures to unwitting possession, drug possession is not always black and white.
These sort of fines and jail time can radically affect your life. If you are arrested on suspicion of drug use or possession, you have options. You do not need to pay for a crime you did not commit. For more information, we encourage you to explore our website.